Operating airhoses

Want to run your railway a little more like the real thing? Read on...
Post Reply
User avatar
torikoos
Posts: 844
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 10:46 pm
Location: Newton Abbot, Devon, UK .
Contact:

Operating airhoses

Post by torikoos » Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:17 pm

I guess this is sort of part of operations, and sort of 'super detailing '.....

Brian told me the other weekend that he'd seen some self coupling airhoses, but couldn't remember the maker etc.

Here they are:


Made by http://fairwayparkmodels.com/index.html , costs are in Canadian dollars, 4 pairs for $6,- plus shipping.

It's the next step in model 'realism' perhaps? :-) If only the demonstration video would have used some prototypical speeds, I guess over eager to demonstrate their function....
Koos Fockens -Devon UK. North American Model Railroading
Age is just a case of mind over matter. If you don't mind, then it doesn't matter.

User avatar
BrianMoore
Posts: 384
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:05 pm
Location: Plymouth, UK

Re: Operating airhoses

Post by BrianMoore » Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:47 pm

Thanks for finding this, Koos. It's exactly what I was talking about.

Personally, I find it brilliant, although getting a full set of hoses to do it each side of a locomotive is quie another thing.
Brian Moore

User avatar
torikoos
Posts: 844
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 10:46 pm
Location: Newton Abbot, Devon, UK .
Contact:

Re: Operating airhoses

Post by torikoos » Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:50 pm

stick them a bit higher on locomotives , and pretend they are the MU cable ;-)

I'm also looking at these with interest. I haven't got a huge fleet of 'modernish' cars at the moment (i.e. stuff without roofwalks etc) , and these would go nicely on those. :-)
Koos Fockens -Devon UK. North American Model Railroading
Age is just a case of mind over matter. If you don't mind, then it doesn't matter.

trevorsmith3489
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:05 pm

Re: Operating airhoses

Post by trevorsmith3489 » Thu Jan 24, 2013 11:33 pm

Some questions

Do they work if the trip pins are left on the couplings?
What happens when they pass over uncoupling magnets, do they break contact with each other and drop to the magnet?
Would the magnet be strong enough to a car move on its own if it were parked near a magnet?

I like to operate my layout "hands free" and while they look superb I fear they would not allow me to operate in the way I would wish.

Trevor

User avatar
torikoos
Posts: 844
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 10:46 pm
Location: Newton Abbot, Devon, UK .
Contact:

Re: Operating airhoses

Post by torikoos » Fri Jan 25, 2013 7:08 am

Valid questions Trevor, I have no idea. I don't use uncoupling magnets etc myself, so it would work for me.

Best to contact the manufacturer and ask these questions.

Koos
Koos Fockens -Devon UK. North American Model Railroading
Age is just a case of mind over matter. If you don't mind, then it doesn't matter.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests