Kadees for KATO locos

New toys to show off? Projects you're working on? Want advice on what (and what not to) get? Try here...
Post Reply
800415
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:05 pm

Kadees for KATO locos

Post by 800415 » Sat Oct 20, 2012 2:14 pm

Hi

I want to standardise the couplers on my Kato locos but Kadee number-5's have fixing loops on either side of the coupler box. Do you just cut these loops off or is there a special number-5-compatible coupler that fits Kato?

Thanks

Steve
Steve Whitaker

User avatar
BrianMoore
Posts: 384
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:05 pm
Location: Plymouth, UK

Re: Kadees for KATO locos

Post by BrianMoore » Sat Oct 20, 2012 3:02 pm

Steve

I just cut them off and file the rough edge smooth in circumstances like that.

Brian
Brian Moore

Mike_R
Posts: 381
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:05 pm

Re: Kadees for KATO locos

Post by Mike_R » Sat Oct 20, 2012 8:07 pm

I agree with Brian, I use Nos 58, just cut off the "ears" and the box fits the Kato mount.

Mike Ruby
Mike Ruby

RaySav
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2010 8:56 pm

Re: Kadees for KATO locos

Post by RaySav » Sat Oct 20, 2012 8:40 pm

Steve,
The Kadee coupler will fit into the existing Kato coupler box.
You may need to superglue a slither of 10 thou shim onto the bottom of the coupler shank.
This will prevent it from "drooping" & will maintain the correct coupler height.

Ray

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests