New cobalt point motors with inbuilt decoders

For those that like their electrickery delivered digitally...
Post Reply
antonyjq
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:05 pm
Location: North London
Contact:

New cobalt point motors with inbuilt decoders

Post by antonyjq » Sun Nov 16, 2014 12:23 pm

Hi all.
Was hoping to get a few ideas / thoughts from you on the new cobalt point motors (with inbuilt decoder).

Am toying with the idea of using these in the future.
One "issue" springs to mind: have of you got any thoughts on the use of an accessory bus with the new cobalt?
I use an accessory bus that drives my turnouts / signals which is entirely separate from my track bus. If using the new cobalts to power the frog, the feed to the frog will be from the accessory bus rather than a track bus.
If a loco overruns a point, it would, presumably then short both the track bus (through the stock rail) and also the accessory bus (through) the frog. Uhmm...

Any ideas?
Ant

Mike_R
Posts: 387
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:05 pm

Re: New cobalt point motors with inbuilt decoders

Post by Mike_R » Wed Nov 19, 2014 7:22 pm

The description of the motor says it has two SPDT switches same as the non-digital ones, so no problem with frog powering. Power the frog switch with track power and the motor with accessory bus power.
Mike Ruby

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest