Athearn Genesis Mike with a problem

For those that like their electrickery delivered digitally...
Post Reply
mec_alf
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:05 pm
Location: Cheshire

Athearn Genesis Mike with a problem

Post by mec_alf » Wed Oct 01, 2014 12:36 pm

I've got an Athearn Mike that has turned into a chip frier - literally.

The problem started with the red power wire coming adrift from its solder tag - so no propulsion. After dismantling the loco I was able to resolder the wire and checked it on DC power where it was quite happy. I then re-installed the TCS decoder and re-set it on the programming track. So far, so good.

I then put it on the main line where it leapt forward, with the controller on speed step 0, and blew the decoder; there's damage to both top and bottom insulating material on the decoder.

Trying it with a brand new NCE decoder on the programming track was a waste of time. My Gaugemaster set wouldn't program the decoder, nor would it read back any CVs. Plug in an Athearn dummy plug and connect it to a DC power supply and everything is fine, but on DCC: nothing.

Do I hard wire a decoder or is there something simple that I've missed?
From Rigby Yard to the Hill - MEC and SP live on.

User avatar
torikoos
Posts: 829
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 10:46 pm
Location: Newton Abbot, Devon, UK .
Contact:

Re: Athearn Genesis Mike with a problem

Post by torikoos » Thu Oct 02, 2014 1:56 pm

Hello Maineu18b (?)

Do you mind sharing your first name, that 'talks' easier.

To me initially it seems like the TCS decoder was damaged when the wire came loose initially but still functioned.
When it was exposed to full track power and current, it blew.

The problem with the NCE in combination with Gaugemaster (which is MRC in disguise) I cannot comment on (other than that I know that MRC doesn't follow the DCC spec 100%).
Do you know someone near where you could program your loco using another system (Lenz , Digitraxx, NCE, etc) ? I think that because it worked previously, and it works now on DC, means there's probably nothing seriously wrong with the loco.

Koos
Koos Fockens -Devon UK. North American Model Railroading
Age is just a case of mind over matter. If you don't mind, then it doesn't matter.

mec_alf
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:05 pm
Location: Cheshire

Re: Athearn Genesis Mike with a problem

Post by mec_alf » Fri Oct 03, 2014 10:35 am

Hello Koos,

That's possible, and I'll try it with my elderly ROCO Multi-maus once I've found its instruction manual.

I've got several other locos running the NCE decoder, all programmed on the Gaugemaster set, which reduces the likelihood that the two are incompatible.

Thanks

Maineu18b - as I commented elsewhere, as soon as I find out who I am, I'll properly identify myself :)
From Rigby Yard to the Hill - MEC and SP live on.

mec_alf
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:05 pm
Location: Cheshire

Re: Athearn Genesis Mike with a problem

Post by mec_alf » Fri Oct 10, 2014 6:10 pm

Upon much closer inspection I found that the screw securing the red wire to the chassis wasn't screwed fully home, permitting the tag to "float". A quick tightening up resolved the problem.

Sometimes the obvious solution isn't the correct one.
From Rigby Yard to the Hill - MEC and SP live on.

User avatar
torikoos
Posts: 829
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 10:46 pm
Location: Newton Abbot, Devon, UK .
Contact:

Re: Athearn Genesis Mike with a problem

Post by torikoos » Tue Oct 14, 2014 10:04 am

excellent, that's good news :-)
Koos Fockens -Devon UK. North American Model Railroading
Age is just a case of mind over matter. If you don't mind, then it doesn't matter.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest