DCC loco decoders.

For those that like their electrickery delivered digitally...
User avatar
Gloriousnse
Posts: 529
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 5:32 pm
Location: Exeter, UK
Contact:

Re: DCC loco decoders.

Post by Gloriousnse » Mon Nov 05, 2012 5:20 pm

Koos - to my mind/ear the big issue will be does it include a turbocharger sound, not the number of cylinders - the turbocharger changes the sound entirely!
Martyn Read

redbull
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:05 pm
Location: Cookham Dean, Berkshire
Contact:

Re: DCC loco decoders.

Post by redbull » Mon Nov 05, 2012 6:51 pm

Koos, just remember you'll need to get one of these in order to be able to load new sound files on - easily done: http://www.coastaldcc.co.uk/products/pr ... php?id=163
Peter Borcherds
Rochelle Intermodal N Scale Modular Layout
http://www.rochelleintermodal.com

User avatar
torikoos
Posts: 854
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 10:46 pm
Location: Newton Abbot, Devon, UK .
Contact:

Re: DCC loco decoders.

Post by torikoos » Mon Nov 05, 2012 7:24 pm

Hi Peter, yes I will invest in a programmer in due course, but will order my first ESU decoder with a 'usable' sound file, and will upload the correct or a tweaked sound file in the future where needed.

Martyn, depending on which loco the first ESU decoder will end up in, I might need the Turbo sound. If it's the GP15-1, then I don't need one, that's not turbocharged , if it goes in the GP 35, then I believe it will need to be a turbo charged version of the 567.

We'll see , I'm not spending the money yet, christmas is coming, the kids want too many, and expensive presents, besides I'll have to wait (and frankly save my money for a bit) as I have several locos still on Advanced reservation orders, and knowing my luck, they'll all show up at once, and have loads of explaining to do to my wife ...... I better start getting acquainted with the sofa. :lol:

Koos
Koos Fockens -Devon UK. North American Model Railroading
Age is just a case of mind over matter. If you don't mind, then it doesn't matter.

Mike_R
Posts: 390
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:05 pm

Re: DCC loco decoders.

Post by Mike_R » Tue Nov 06, 2012 2:15 pm

Koos

Turbo or non-turbo is definitely the biggest difference, number of cylinders and engine model (same manufacturer) is not as noticeable. In fact I've used the wrong engine because it sounds more like those on videos than the right one.

Remember two of us in the WU have programmers. Probably all Loksound locos in the WU have been through at least one of these.
Mike Ruby

redbull
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:05 pm
Location: Cookham Dean, Berkshire
Contact:

Re: DCC loco decoders.

Post by redbull » Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:00 pm

I have a programmer as well, so any members in the Berkshire / Surrey areas are welcome to get in touch. Or just come down to visit the Seaboard Southern group (http://www.seaboard-southern.org.uk)and we will give you a demonstration on how the programmer works, and if you bring your locos with you, we might even program them for you.

Peter
Peter Borcherds
Rochelle Intermodal N Scale Modular Layout
http://www.rochelleintermodal.com

antonyjq
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:05 pm
Location: North London
Contact:

Re: DCC loco decoders.

Post by antonyjq » Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:56 pm

I'd just like to confirm Peter's views on MRC decoders. My MRC decoders are also cr*p!
Ant

User avatar
torikoos
Posts: 854
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 10:46 pm
Location: Newton Abbot, Devon, UK .
Contact:

Re: DCC loco decoders.

Post by torikoos » Wed Nov 07, 2012 7:16 am

Thanks all for your advice and offered assistance.
I will surely get in touch when I have an ESU decoder in my possession.

Koos
Koos Fockens -Devon UK. North American Model Railroading
Age is just a case of mind over matter. If you don't mind, then it doesn't matter.

Mike_R
Posts: 390
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:05 pm

Re: DCC loco decoders.

Post by Mike_R » Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:34 pm

I have a couple of the first Digitrax sound decoders, I'm not too impressed with the running and have replaced with Loksound. I plan to put them in a pair of Budds, where speed matching with the rest of the fleet doesn't matter.

Agree with DecoderPro, I'm a long time user and would hate to go back to button pressing to program decoders. Plus the layout control and operations and all for free (although please make a donation if you can).
Mike Ruby

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest